Reviews

August 26, 2013

Excalibur 9 Tray Deluxe Dehydrator Review

Excalibur Food Dehydrator

Drying food by dehydration is a convenient and cost effective way to preserve food. Dehydration of foods is also an natural way of creating some delicious dried ingredients used in recipes for example sun dried tomatoes, which would normally take hours to dry under direct sun and what if you don't have any sunshine? Excalibur 3900W 9 Tray deluxe dehydrator is a wonderful appliance as it can preserve foods by drying them by dehydration and make some healthy delicious snacks such as dry fruit all year around and just within a day. It allows you to make large batches of dried snacks so you could store them. With this appliance you can enjoy your own home made fresh, tasty and nutritious snacks whenever you desire. Here is a Excalibur 3900W 9 Tray deluxe dehydrator review to give readers an insight into its positive and negative features. 

ArrowContinue reading: "Excalibur 9 Tray Deluxe Dehydrator Review"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

May 8, 2013

iGozen Everyday Organic Cleaner

igozen_cleaner.jpg

iGOZEN is a 100% organic simple and affordable solution that safely cleans your house, protecting you and your family from these deadly toxins. iGOZEN also has food washes to truly remove bacteria and pesticides from your food.

We've been using the iGozen Everyday cleaner for the past 3 weeks on our granite counter tops and kitchen sinks with micro-fiber towels and the results have been amazing. Clean counters without the smell of a harsh cleanser and also gleaming surfaces. It does a great job on touch up cleaning areas, and we like that it's organic.

We used the starter kit that includes 6 packets of powder, a bottle for dispensing, and a micro-fiber towel. The Everyday Cleaner bottle sprays a large area, and we felt did a great job in the 16oz size of not running out.

Thanks to iGozen for sending us samples to review.

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 7, 2012

Review: Thermapen Thermometer Reads Temps Instantly

tempreading_cup_192.jpg
Using the Thermapen is quick and easy. Here we
are testing the temperature of a cup of pressed coffee
that requires a brew temp of 186-190F.  

Just open the probe and the Thermapen comes on. Close it and it shuts off. No buttons or switches to catch germs, confuse you and cause errors. We used our Thermapen (thanks to ThermoWorks for sending) over the past weekend to test various brew temperatures in our coffee makers to seek a perfect brew. Temp readings from the Thermapen were almost instant unlike our older kitchen thermometers, and we loved how easy it was to hold and put away.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Thermapen Thermometer Reads Temps Instantly"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

December 8, 2011

Review: Emson Electric 5Qt Smoker- The Only Indoor Pressure Smoker

5104y-t2JJL._AA300_.jpg

Emson was sent us their Emson Electric 5Qt Indoor Pressure Smoker, and we have to say right up front we're impressed. The indoor pressure cooker smoker can cook up to 4-pounds of food at once, and even cold smoke cheeses. For us in the Northeast outdoor smoking ends in October, and indoor smoking? Well we would have never thought such a thing existed until now. And now with the Emson indoor smoker we think our long winter ahead looks smoky and bright.


emson_all_stuff.jpg

You see the Emson Electric 5Qt Indoor Pressure Smoker is safe for indoor use, and cooking times are reduced by 50-percent. Pressure cooking also is a perfect match for smoking as the results are moist, juicy, and smoky. We used apple chips for the 12 pieces of chicken - 6 thighs and 6 legs in 35 minutes. Also people have asked - is this going to produce a ton of smoke in our house. Our answer - no. We didn't have any noticeable amount of smoke except smoky cooking smell which we love.


ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Emson Electric 5Qt Smoker- The Only Indoor Pressure Smoker"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 28, 2011

BluApple Makes Fruit Last Longer and Stay Fresh

blueapple.jpg

We've been using the BluApple over the past week and as you can see above - our bananas with blue apple are much fresher and less ripe than the banana left out in the cold. Why? Well ethylene gas is given off naturally by fruits and vegetables as a signaling mechanism in order to coordinate uniform ripening, and this causes quick ripening and spoilage too soon.

You can use it in your fruit bowl or even your fruit storage drawer. Results for us in both locations resulted in well - fruit lasting longer and less spoilage. Thanks again to BluApple for sending, and after these run out in about 3-4 months we'll be getting another set to keep our fruit lasting longer and that way less of it ends up in the compost bin because we didn't get time to eat it.

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 12, 2011

Oransi Fridge Air Purifier - Keep Your Fridge Smelling Fresh

OI939-2T.jpg

The Oransi Ionic Fridge air purifier cleans the air in your refrigerator so it smells amazing by emitting ozone. We've been using it in our fridge here in the Kitchen Contraptions test kitchen over the holidays and into the new year and love it. There is a fresh difference and we think the difference is even a little better than our baking soda in a box we typically use. It's also very compact and can be put anywhere in the fridge to keep it fresh.

  • Patented Piezo-electric ionizer (ozone safe - 0.011 ppm, that’s more than 78% below the FDA limit)
  • Micro CPU controls the operation of the air purifier to cycle between on/off mode
  • LED display indicates mode of operation
  • Noise Level: Silent

We never thought there would be an ozone unit that would work in our fridge, and now we're happy to share it with you. Thanks to Oransi for sending this over for us to review.

At Oransi Fridge air purifier

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

January 7, 2011

Review: Bosch Universal Plus Kitchen Machine

bosch_kitchen_mixer.jpg

Bosch recently sent us their new really easy to use kitchen machine. What's a kitchen machine? Well think of it as a mixer with attachments all working around a large 800 watt motor base. The design is also very simple, and putting together the mixing bowl, beaters - etc. was also really easy and quick.

making_batter_bosch.jpg

We used ours to mix icing and cake mixes, and we had our mom make some bread using it. The results? As stated easy to use, clean up, and also store. It's a little larger than other small appliances, but the things it can do are vast. You can also get attachments like a blender and other items for it.


making_dough_2_bosch_controls.jpg
  • 800 watt motor
  • Easy-to-use (4 speeds plus impulse) with slower low-speed setting; faster high-speed setting
  • 6.5 quart high-volume mixing bowl with higher dough capacity
  • Dough hook, scraper and double beater included.
  • Security device, cover for both drives
  • Integrated cable storage
  • Durable, easy to clean surface
  • Wide range of optional accessories eliminate the need for many additional kitchen appliances

At Bosch

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 10, 2010

Review: Reduce Eco-Friendly Compactor Trash Can - Smash the Trash

418NWazX7pL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

We've been using the Reduce Eco-Friendly Compactor Trash Can over the past month, and we are really impressed. The Reduce Trash can has a compactor top you push down to reduce the trash in the can by compacting it. Reduce? Well it's not like trash disappears but it does get reduced in size.

IMG_2960.jpg

Reduce in the test kitchen.

We found the Reduce Eco-Friendly Compactor Trash Can top fun to push down, and if we were having a bad day a great way to ease out a little frustration. Reduce claims you'll use half as many trash bags as you would with your old trash can, and we think this is about 1/4 less. The trash can does a great job but if you smooshed down your trash before, this is a little better than that. The big pluses are not touching the trash to do the smooshing.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Reduce Eco-Friendly Compactor Trash Can - Smash the Trash"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 15, 2010

Review: Bialetti Aeternum 3 Piece Saute Pan Set

31Ka-HAvGQL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

Bialetti sent us this amazing set of pots and pans over a month ago, and we have to say - wow. This 3-piece saute pan set includes: - 8" (20cm) Saute Pan - 9.5" (24cm) Saute Pan - 11" (28cm) Saute Pan. The three pans clean up really well, and feature coatings free of PFOA, free of PTFE and free of Cadmium.

The interior features a new "nano-ceramic" coating which is a water-based coating made of titanium and suspended silicate micro-particles (the main component of glass). This material resists scratches, abrasions and offers a smooth, compact and uniform surface that makes it easier to clean.

The white color provides a unique and extraordinary cooking experience, and they aren't kidding. You can really see what you're cooking and the sauce, oil, or other coverage when you are heating up the pan or deglazing. The base provides excellent thermal conductivity and guarantees optimum heat distribution resulting in less energy required to maintain desired cooking temperature. The also scratch resistant hi-temp silicone exterior makes this cookware easy to clean.

We think for the $79.99 these pans cost, we would have paid double for their ease of use and the experience of the cookware surface.

At Bialetti Aeternum 3 Piece Saute Pan Set and Bialetti

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 8, 2010

My Drap Cotton Napkins on Roll - Reusable and Eco-Friendly


mydrap_napkins.jpg

My Drap Cotton napkins and place mats are to us exactly what you need to make dinner parties fresh and exciting without the waste. These napkins and place mats come in a variety of colors, and you simply tear them off a roll and use them at your dinner party or regular dinner. They are made of cotton so after use you can reuse them with a simple wash. We tried them out over the course of 2 weeks and found them to be a refreshing change to paper napkins and then washed them found them equally as good the second time. Great stuff and a very interesting product we think you'll enjoy. Thanks to My Drap for sending these to us to review.

At My Drap E-store

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 13, 2010

Review: Capresso H2O Pro Programmable Cordless 56-Ounce Water Kettle with Variable Temperature Control

41ZKGzM3hNL._SL500_AA300_.jpg

We've been using the Capresso H20 Pro Programmable water kettle for the past 2 months, and we have to say it's perfect. The 56-ounce cordless electric kettle in stainless steel with polished chrome finish looks pretty amazing on our countertop, and the 360-degree swivel base has made the kettle easy to get on an off it's little perch.

If you haven't used a programmable kettle, then you don't know what good tea and other hot beverages can taste like. The illuminated digital display and push-button controls allow you to set programmable temperatures like keep-warm and extended-boil settings if you've got some funky water with too much chlorine to boil.

But the big thing here is the temperature on the handle. By knowing what temperature you have the water at, you can safely use the hot water for the right tea (see here for brewing guide). So the programmable feature of the tea kettle will let you keep the tea water warm at 110F to 190F - pretty amazing. There's also a auto shut-off and boil-dry protection for safety, along with a water-level window. And if that was not enough the there is a micro-filter spout to catch anything that might have ventured into your kettle.

We've simply enjoyed and loved this kettle since Capresso sent it to us to review, and we think you'll love it too and especially if you're a tea drinker.

At Capresso H2O Pro Programmable Cordless 56-Ounce Water Kettle with Variable Temperature Control

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 21, 2010

Review: SousVide Supreme Water Oven – Cooking Perfection

sousvidewateroven_small.jpg

This SousVide Supreme Water Oven combines a thermostatically controlled, touchpad enabled, super slow cooker function with vacuum packed foodstuffs and water to deliver perfectly cooked fish, vegetables, and other sealed items of your choice.

The product of decades of refinement by top chefs, the SousVide Supreme Water Oven cooks sealed food at precise preset temperatures for consistent cooking, and wonderful flavors. Vacuum-sealed food loses virtually none of its flavor or nutrients during cooking, and the pressure encourages flash marinating, naturally enhancing the delicious tastes and aromas of the food with little added seasoning.

The people behind the SousVide Supreme Water Oven provided us a review unit, along with spices, and a vacuum sealer for 1 week to review. We had to think fast on what we wanted to try, and decided on giving steak medium rare a try and document the process and our thoughts.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: SousVide Supreme Water Oven – Cooking Perfection"

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

February 12, 2010

Review: Vicera Ceramic Knives from Japan

vicera_knives.jpg

Vicera sent us a set of their ceramic Chef's Knife, Santoku Knife, and Utility Knife to review over the past two weeks. We've been using these knives daily in our cooking, and compared to the Kyocera knives which we've been using - we simply like these knives better. They are dishwasher safe, and the white blade compared to the black ceramic blade of the Kyocera knives is much thinner and we think cuts a bit easier. We also like the handle on the Vicera knives a bit more as well - the texture on the handle makes it grippier.

These knives are not cheap, but then again when is a great knife cheap? You're going to pay on average $59-$99 for these ceramic knives, and these should be thought of - IN ADDITION TO - the knives you're using. Ceramic knives are not good for deboning or doing task where the knives could be pitted agains something hard. These knives however slice perfect slices of tomatoes and other vegetables.

You're also not going to TASTE the knife - as the ceramic leaves no metal taste to delicate fish and other foods. We really like these knives, and a big thanks to Vicera for sending them to us for review.

vicera_chefs_knives.jpg
  • Chef's Knife - Customarily the preferred knife for most kitchen tasks, our 6-inch/ 16cm Chef’s Knife bears a classic design for general use. Made in Japan.
  • Santoku Knife - Slightly smaller than the Chef's Knife, our 5.5-inch/ 14cm Santoku Knife is designed for those who want the virtues of a Chef’s Knife but seek a finer control over its use. Made in Japan
  • Utility Knife - Our 5-inch/ 13cm Utility Knife is designed for tasks too small for a Chef’s Knife and too large for a Paring Knife. The narrow blade is perfect for quick, routine cuts such as slicing sandwiches or pastries. Made in Japan.

At Vicera

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 21, 2009

Fusionwood Chefs Knives- Elegant knives for Artist Chefs

fusionwoodknives.jpg

We've received a set of the Fusionwood paring and 8" Chef knives here at Kitchen Contraptions from New West Knifeworks. We can safely say these are beautiful knives which make you want to chop, dice, and slice more food than the recipe calls for. The Fusionwood knives are made from premium high-carbon stainless tool steel, and the beautiful multi-colored hardwood veneer handles are fused into a technically flawless culinary instrument for professional or home chefs. The chefs knives Fine Cooking magazine called "Knife Art", and we agree.

We can't think of a better replacement for our current 8" Chef knife, and the paring knife was more than perfect for some apple pie madness this past weekend. Simply put - the Fusion Wood knives are a treat to use. These knives put a smile on our face each time we use them (even seeing them puts a smile on our face too).

At Fusionwood Chefs Knives and Fusionwood Set - Paring and Chef Knives

Jay Brewer at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

 1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6 

next >>

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email

Subscribe - RSS

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Recent Comments
S: What this gadget is called and where can I buy read more
Seamus Lowe: That is an amazing looking fridge. I'd probably really like read more
Omid: Regarding to Urben cultivator: Dose this model has corner units. read more
Nancy: Hello. I have been trying to find this exact item read more
Tamela Sutler: where can I get this unbreakable drink dispenser, the ball read more

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

FoodPire

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.
All items Copyright © 1999-2014 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy